Picture of 2018 NAC members being very serious.

About the National Advisory Council

The National Advisory Council (NAC) serves the Brigade community by connecting Code for America staff to the needs of the Brigade community, matchmaking Brigades to one another to share learnings and ideas, supporting and cultivating community leaders, and leveraging the diverse talent that Brigades contain.

In addition to its advisory role, the National Advisory Council helps Brigade network members build the skills they need to be successful community leaders. Members of the NAC have an expansive network and foster relationships around the country to build the civic tech movement and engage their local communities to improve government.

The current National Advisory Council

There are nine NAC members (5 at-large and 4 regional), each are elected to serve a two year term with elections alternating each year.

They are:

  • Laura Biediger (South Region, Code for Durham)
  • Emma Burnett (At-Large, OpenMaine)
  • Ramy Kim (West Region, OpenOakland)
  • Nina Kin (At-Large, Hack for LA)
  • Carl V. Lewis (At-Large, Open Savannah)
  • Melanie Mazanek (At-Large, Code for Asheville)
  • Dawn McDougall (Northeast Region, Code for Philly)
  • Janet Michaelis (Midwest Region, Code for Dayton)
  • Ben Trevino (At-Large, Code for Hawaii)

You can reach the NAC by emailing NAC@codeforamerica.org.

Map of Brigade Regions


Not sure which region your Brigade is in? Check the Brigade Contact Directory.

National Advisory Council meetings

The National Advisory Council meets monthly to discuss their current work, upcoming events and Brigade network needs. The agenda is maintained and facilitated by the Chair and time is split between NAC members and CfA staff.

All agendas and notes are posted on the Code for America Discourse after the meeting.

View Meeting Agendas

Additionally, the NAC has two in-person meetings a year: once at Summit and also at Brigade Congress.

Previous National Advisory Council Members


  • Jill Bjers, Open Charlotte Brigade
  • Jason Hibbets, Open Raleigh Brigade
  • Chris Alfano, Code for Philly
  • Neil Planchon, Open Oakland
  • Noel Hidalgo, BetaNYC
  • Harlan Weber, Code for Boston
  • Vyki Englert, Hack for LA
  • Luigi Ray-Montanez, Code for Atlanta
  • Andrew Kozlik, Code for Orlando